Free Photography Course at Shaw Academy

To have a better understanding of photography, I decided to enroll for beginner photography classes at Shaw Academy. They’re currently offering a Free Photography Course, and it’s one of the free online photography courses with certificates.

As most of you are aware, I recently purchased a Nikon D7000. One thing that can help boost anyone’s mood is having a good hobby, and photography is one of mine.

In these past months, I was able to take photos of cosplayers, portraits of my family and friends, and street art. To gain self-confidence and get an idea of how subjects feel while being photographed, I even took a shot at modeling for the camera myself.

download-11

dsc_1933

dsc_2491

emc_5282

emc_7496-01

dsc_2160

However, I haven’t been able to really study photography in my own time. I mostly just point and shoot, having basic knowledge of the settings in manual mode.

This course, which includes live webinars where you can ask questions to the speakers in real time, will definitely give me a direction in learning more about the functions and settings of my camera and how to use them.

The course includes the following lessons:

  • Lesson 1: What is Photography?
  • Lesson 2: Demystifying Camera Functions
  • Lesson 3: Capturing the Light
  • Lesson 4: Motion and Depth
  • Lesson 5: Composition
  • Lesson 6: Advanced Composition
  • Lesson 7: How Much Light is Enough?
  • Lesson 8: Manual Mode – The Relationship Between Shutter Speed and Aperture
  • Lesson 9: The Color of Light: White Balance
  • Lesson 10: The Digital Image

I hope I can attend all the live lessons, so I can have more photos to share on my photoblog. I’ll also try to post about some of the things I’ll be learning along the way.



The registration is free for a limited time (23 hours left right now), so I wanted to share it with you all right away. If you’re starting out in photography and want to have interactive photography lessons for free, you can join me! Click here



liz-c

19 thoughts on “Free Photography Course at Shaw Academy

  1. Great idea Liz….wish you huge success with this course…..some nice shots too…:)….wish to reblog this in my blog so that many others can know of this offer and join you….:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heya, the certificates are actually online. It’s quick. Although all the lessons are for free, I think there’s a small payment for the certificate itself. At least, that’s as far as I know. I have one certificate from this site, and that’s what I did.

      You can always ask the speaker in the webinars. They are very accommodating, even if the lessons are for free. You can type questions in a chat box.

      Like

  2. Great Pictures i must say. Too much efforts. As an photographer i knew how difficult sometimes to click photos like this. So i always wanted to help new photographer so that they could not face such difficulties. So i decided to write some tips and blogs for them at https://www.behance.net/NitinKhannaOR so that they could learn from good photographers like you. Have a look and let me know if something is missing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Nitin. Thanks so much for your encouragement. Your photos look amazing! I especially love the Trick Photography. Did you use Photoshop for that? I still have sooo much to learn, photography and post editing. I barely started.

      Like

    1. I feel the same. I use a Nikon D7000 with an 18-105mm lens. I don’t want to be just another girl with a camera, I want to create beautiful images. For now though, I need to learn the basics. What about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have a Canon Rebel T4i that my parents help me purchases four years ago when I started my photography career, and I still use the same body. I love photography and I really wish I could make a difference the best part for me was joining Yearbook and newspaper in high school so my photography and memories would be held for a lifetime and not just taking up space on a hard drive, I wish I could find another outlet to express my photography passion again with a strong purpose.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Free course which covered so much topic cover is a steal! The trick to improve is to keep shooting and enjoy the entire process. No need to be stress up about photoshop yet, the key is to get the fundamental right. 😉

    Like

Share your thoughts :)

