VOTW #9: Bitter Gourds

As a child, I remember my stepmom telling me to eat veggies and not just, well, anything that’s fried. She said that not everything that tastes good is actually good for you and that I should also think of what it’ll cause in the future. As I child who purely ran on sweets and cartoons at the time (and until now, honestly), I just said “I don’t wanna. Bitter gourds are bitter.” #duh

A few years and 200 pounds later, I now realize how things would have been different had I learned the importance of healthy eating, self-discipline, and just actually listened to what my parents said.

Much like the pile of plates you left unwashed in the sink just because Scrubs was on, you’ll realize the implications of the actions you so carelessly ignored in the past sooner or later. For me, it was my weight. Slowly but surely, I gained pound after pound while I thoughtlessly indulged myself with juicy pieces of heaven called “fried chicken” while I kept telling myself “just for today”. If only I knew. Boy oh boy.

Discipline towards ourselves is something we usually look over. Besides, it’s easier to care for today than the future, right? Here’s what the Bible says about this:  

“A man without self-control is like a city broken into and left without walls.” (Proverbs 25:28)

If you don’t learn control yourself, who will?

Just because chicken tastes good doesn’t mean you should only eat chicken. Just because your bed feels nice and warm doesn’t mean that you should skip work. Just because Scrubs is on doesn’t mean you should leave your plates unwashed. C’mon, man.

Give more value and thought to your future. Besides, you’ll be spending most of your time on it.

How about you? What are the things you realize you should have exerted more self-control on?

 

VOTW  9 - Discipline Verses.jpg

 

Trying to like bitter gourds,

mk

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “VOTW #9: Bitter Gourds

  1. Give more value and thought to your future.

    Excellent point!!! Especially the “value” I know sometimes I feel like it just really doesn’t matter…that I don’t really matter. But that’s just not true. I matter in GOD’s eyes, and because of that, I should place value on myself.

    Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Glad you liked it! 🙂

      He values us so much He even gave His life for you and for me. Whenever I feel unimportant, that’s what I tell myself. We are all important, loved, and special in His eyes and that’s awesome! 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

Share your thoughts :)

