First Memories

Most people have no memory of their first years in life. Some remember it quite faintly.

I, maybe like a majority of other people, recall my toddler years as if watching a really old film. Some scenes show up, while others are skipped through.

Year One.

I was sitting on a cemented ledge in front of our mini store and my mother was in front of me. She was holding a piece of fruit or ice, and a pin to pierce ears with.

She would have told me to sit still, and it wouldn’t hurt that much.

Year One.

There were balloons and party hats everywhere. People were walking in and out of our house, backyard, and garage (which was full of tables and chairs for visitors). I was walking around in a white or pink dress with a fluffy skirt like what a flower girl wears.

I felt so important that day. Everyone paid attention to me, looked for me, and greeted me.


 

These two incidents may have been my first encounters with real pain and real joy in my life. These are my first memories.

 


 

Can you recall your very first memories? Share it in the comments. 🙂

 

liz-c

Autonovella

14 thoughts on “First Memories

    1. Exactly! It’s like an old film! It’s fun, though. Almost like a dream… but I asked my sister and she validated that I did have my first birthday party at home with visitors etc.

      I like your first memory. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Sitting on daddy’s lap, as he reads the Sunday funnies to me, while he drifts off to sleep and I try to keep him awake.
    Preschool age most likely.
    Fun post.
    I enjoyed your early rememories….
    Thanx, ren

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Read a couple of your posts and really loved them! How simply and sincerely they reflect upon your personal experiences! Btw, I’m so pleased that you visited my blog, & chose to follow it! Thank you so much! 🙂 Would love to follow your blog too! Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thank you so much for your very kind words. I fell in love with your blog the minute I saw it. It’s minimalist, organized theme. Your writing. I haven’t explored it that much yet, but I bookmarked it for a good day of reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My mom always laughs that I can remember a house we lived in when I was a preschooler, but I can only remember there were stairs and a hole in the screen door. No one else can remember the hole, but it was exactly at eye level for me. Funny how memory works.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I can still picture that hole and the stairs from one night when we came home late. Weird. I also remember us coming back from somewhere and we’d stopped at a McDonald’s. Ronald McDonald was there but I slept through it so Mom made my brother give me the trinket he got from Ronald to me to make it even. No one else remembers that trip, but my brother was not happy.

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts :)

