Depression Speaks

Hi. I’m back.ย Did you think you would get rid of me so easily? Think again.ย 

I’ll keep hiding behind your smile, lurking beneath your laughter,ย smirking as you think I’m gone.

I’ll crawl into the innermost secrets in your mind, and release it all again and again for you to drown in.

You are mine, and I will not let go of you.

I will ruin your will to live. I will make you disinterested with everything you used to love. I will drag you down to the depths of darkness where no one will find you.

I will destroy you.

And people won’t know what hit you. ‘Cause I’ll always be unseen.


 

What if depression was a person? Would we know how to avoid him? Would we know how to recognize him? Or her?

Would we listen to depression’s lies that we’re not good enough? Would we let it punch us in the face repeatedly with past hurts? Would we let it win?

We shouldn’t, and you won’t.

You’re here today because you’re stronger than what you think.

You are more capable than what you have been led to believe.

Depression speaks, but you will not listen. Not this time. Not anymore.

You will overcome.

53 thoughts on “Depression Speaks

  1. You would recognize depression if it was a person. I think it’s great that you’re bringing strength to people who suffer from it, but it’s not always in people’s control. Of course, I’m sure you’re aware of that ๐Ÿ˜Š I love how this is written nonetheless!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah.. Thanks for that. It’s not easy, but we still have to decide to overcome it nonetheless. It could take many or different forms.. Like seeking professional help and support, medicines, therapy, etc.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. This is a very insightful post, inspiring at the end. I am struggling with my black dog right now which is why I never emailed you back about the video. I’m sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Have you had your birthday yet? ๐Ÿ’–

    Like

  3. Beautifully written, mi amigo.
    But with depression, it’s a never ending bout. Sometimes we win one round and the next one we lose. And it’s only the encouragement and support of the others, that keeps the fight going. Words like yours give hope and courage. Nice one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

      1. This might be weird but I feel like being friends with depression would make it a lot easier to cope with, I don’t know.

        Actually the more I think about the more that doesn’t make any sense. I’m not too sure.

        Like

        1. What comes to mind is the quote, keep your friends close and your enemies closer.

          If you get to know depression like a friend.. What it’s like.. Weaknesses (what makes it go away).. How to cope with it.. It will be easier to deal with it… And possibly walk away and cut ties with it. ‘

          That’s the way it makes sense to me. Hope this helps.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for posting that, it was very honest. Sometimes it’s very difficult to not wallow and to pull yourself out of the mud. We will get there in the end!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A open letter to my depressionย 

    Welcome. Again. I thought those happy pills my therapist gave me finally made you leave but of course you’re stubborn and you didn’t. I didn’t feel like moving today , it was one of those days where I plastered a fake smile on my face trying to ignore the cracking of my soul inside , I didn’t feel like breathing. I thought it would be that day where I would finally give up but no, you ,dear depression, you made me live still and die simultaneously. Little by little ย I cut off my ties with the rest of the world and tried to leave my brain chemicals to do what it does best : fill me with recurrent thoughts of self harm. I am tired and fatigued with the constant repetitive thoughts and the sadness hanging over me like a cloud and the feelings of worthlessness. Exhausted with not being understood. You make me feel like I’m drowning on land when people around me are breathing.ย 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Although I wouldn’t want others to feel this way, the reality is most of us go through it at some point. I feel a sense of belonging in this community where we can encourage one another. I hope you do too. โค

      Like

Share your thoughts :)

