What are you celebrating for?

 

 

Christmas may mean something different to various people.

I’ve talked about how it makes me feel gloomy, and I’ve realized that a lot of people felt the same way. Through this blogosphere, I’ve also recently become aware of some traumatic experiences that can be triggered around this season.

I really admire those people who can take something negative from their life and turn it into something positive. One of my plans is to do something fun, fulfilling, and memorable during times that I know I tend to be down in the dumps.

There is much debate about the origins of Christmas and what it’s really about. I won’t dive into that here, but I will leave some links below for further readings to those interested. In the past few weeks, I’ve reflected on what it really means.

I came to the conclusion that the key question is “What are you celebrating for?”

As a Christian, I take this time to celebrate the life and resurrection of Jesus Christ. From reading so many articles, I will not argue that He was even born on December 25 itself. But I don’t think that’s a reason not to appreciate all He has done for me as a sinner.

In this festive season, I also see family and friends taking time for each other. They spend time together, have reunions, exchange gifts, catch up. I think that the celebration of this holiday depends on what’s in your heart as you do.

I actually went out with some of my relatives for a hike last weekend. Afterwards, I went to the park with my nephew and niece to watch a Lights and Sounds show. It feels really nice and comforting to be with loved ones, but I also cherish the time that I am alone to rest.

15541595_1117976881653414_2256510959184786757_n15698225_1117987491652353_4316146990629185644_n-1

Not everyone celebrates Christmas, but I still have friends who greet me even if they don’t. I’ve also seen others be more generous this time of year. Although I hope that the spirit of giving lasts all year round, it’s still good to see strangers handing out a bounty of food to street kids whenever it may be.

In the end, it’s all about spreading love and joy around us.

And to me, that is beautiful.

liz

 


 

Should Christians Celebrate Christmas?

 

How should believers respond to the criticism leveled against the celebration of Christmas and the Christmas season? Is it scripturally wrong to celebrate Christmas? Is it pagan?” Source 1

Whatever Christians decide to do regarding Christmas, their views should not be used as a club with which to beat down or denigrate those with opposing views, nor should either view be used as a badge of honor inducing pride over celebrating or not celebrating.”
Source 2

 

 

A December to Remember

9 thoughts on “What are you celebrating for?

  1. I settled those (very old) arguments about the timing of Jesus’ birth, the history of the church origins of the holiday, etc, lo these many long years past. Fussiness can also be made about the symbol of the cross, and a host of many other distracting issues. John 3:16 trumps them all. God bless you this holiday with the best of CHRISTmases!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts :)

