5 Reasons to Maintain a Planner

“Productivity is never an accident. It is always the result of a commitment to excellence, intelligent planning, and focused effort.”

– Paul J. Meyer

If you are serious about reaching for your dreams or overcoming personal obstacles, you need to include planning in your everyday life. Having a journal or planner where you can write down your goals and action plans can help in a lot of ways.

5 Reasons to Maintain a Planner

1. Identify goals.

Set a direction for your actions. If you don’t know where you’re going, how are you getting there?

depression-3

2. Improve yourself.

Having a planner can help you ask yourself if what you’re doing today is getting you closer to the person you want to be. 

depression (8).jpg

3. Stay organized.

For someone forgetful like me, I need a concrete plan of what to do each day/week/month. Otherwise, I spend so much time doing random things I can think of. When you have a planner, you can balance and maximize your time for yourself, family, friends, work, chores, and hobbies. 

depression-1

4. Have a purpose.

You can set a goal that makes you want to get up in the morning, and do something. You can also have a reward system for yourself. When you complete your goal for the day, do something nice for you. Try to put a fun twist to the things you need to accomplish.

depression (4).jpg

5. Monitor your progress.

You can celebrate your achievements, and check which tasks you still need to work on. Break down your goals into smaller things to do. Take it one day at a time, so it’s not so overwhelming.

 

“You can’t do it all today, but you can do it. Big goals can only be reached with patience, persistence, and actions in their direction a little more every single day.”

– Does Zantamata


 

This list is actually why I keep trying to maintain a planner. I tend to be disorganized, so having a planner is perfect for me to keep track of everything. I know it’s not that easy, but I hope that we can all try our best to do what we can in having a better life for ourselves. 

 I went to my favorite bookstore to find a good planner for 2017. It’s just a short walk from my office. I actually saw a 2017 version of the planner I have now, but I’m still going to look for something with positive thoughts and other crazy fun ideas.

15555936_1107885559329213_1870436902_n.jpg

I get so easily distracted in a bookstore, honestly. Like a little kid in a toy store browsing through treasures, I lose all sense of time.

Here are some interesting finds I saw today:

Do you guys keep a planner? What kind of planner do you prefer or usually look for? Maybe you can post something about it, and maybe include a picture. You can also share it in the comments.

liz

 

A December to Remember

15192542_1095569397227496_2553773749050789837_n

27 thoughts on “5 Reasons to Maintain a Planner

  1. Well I love to plan and work according to it. It gives me a sense of satisfaction. I still remember my first boss you consistently kept on pushing me to plan my work and maintain my work planner up to date. Over all those years it has became my habit. I need to buy my this year planner which is normally a small pocket diary.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I have a planner app on my iPhone. It’s super colorful, it has to-dos and reminders, notes, and a calendar. It’s like an all-in-one organized and it actually motivates me to get stuff done because it’s so pleasing to use and there’s something so satisfying about checking boxes like “Yes I do that!”

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Hey Liz.. Wonderful article.. I have never used a planner but I would like to as I am sure it would make my life easier and more productive.. I am already researching good planner apps that would help me do it.. Will let you know if I find any..

    Liked by 2 people

  4. My hubby and I LOVE CalenGoo for the phone, which links to google calendars. I have always preferred paper and pencil to technology and I balked at the idea of using my phone as a planner when the hubs first suggested it. Yet, with each new child that came I quickly realized I always have my phone with me and it’s so convenient to share calendars electronically. So I can easily see, share, adjust the hub’s calendar- he can do the same with me, and we can even share with family and friends electronically, as needed. AND for the paper loving girl- I can (and do) easily print off a few months at a time in normal calendar size and post in the kitchen so the kids can see what’s going on (and all the events are already printed on it, nice and neat). ☺️ I do still use a paper planner for homeschooling and it has lovely spaces for writing “fighter verses” weekly and goals, and recapping successes of each week! 😍 loving your blog!!! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds like a really good way to get things done around the house. Thanks for sharing! I checked the app and it looks like you won’t miss anything you put on there, especially if it’s connected to Google calendar. I love that you can share it as well. I also love the idea of fighter verses. ❤

      Thank you for appreciating my blog!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Absolutely love my planner. Have been bullet journaling in a regular A5 notebook for a bit over 6 months and for 2017 am changing to a Kikki-K Binder style planner and wrote about that yesterday. At the moment setting it up is my big task and getting it started for what I want/need out of it. Looking forward to a productive and successful 2017! And I find there’s just something about putting pen to paper that really gets my motivation going!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My day just cannot go without a planner, and so I just cannot do anything but agree with every point. Being a stationery-lover, even I get overwhelmed when encountered with such cute (and expensive) diaries and other stuff. 😀
    But if asked about my planner, it is a simple, pocket-sized diary. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts :)

