Dear Nephew

When I see you
I feel your unsaid words
Like a million pieces of glass
Shattering, scattered on the floor

I wish I could hold you
And say “It’s alright.”
I wish I could tell you
“Everything will be okay.”

But I can’t
‘Cause I know it’s not
And I don’t want to make
False promises

Your strength hurts me
‘Cause you’re too young
To be this tough
And be so cynical

Living without a father
Separated from your mother
Not knowing what will be
Waiting for her to be free

Free from the bondages
She found herself woven into
Maybe coming out a better person
Then she can be with you

I can only hold you
Pat you in the back
Make you smile a bit
Help you feel like a child

I don’t know what to say
I’m not sure what to do
I know you’ll be okay
I can only hope, someday.


Day 2 of “A December to Remember”  – Random Act of Kindness

I visited my  9 year old nephew, whose mom (my sister) was sent to the slammer for drug related issues a few months ago. His father died when he was around 5 years old. He’s living temporarily with one of our dear aunties, but it’s really a difficult time.

I know there are long term implications to what’s going on in his life, but I hope everything does turn out okay for him. He deserves to be cherished and loved. 

My other sister and I brought him his favorite food and I got him a toy.

15292895_1097064977077938_1570021271_o.jpg

It’s not much, but we’re still adjusting to our life’s circumstances regarding this. We don’t really know what to do. One of the reasons I’m studying how to be a counselor is because I want to learn how to deal with dysfunctional family issues like these.

For now, we have to carefully construct a plan on what to do about him for the next few years. Seeing him really breaks my heart. He’s such a sweet boy who’s been through a lot before this even happened, but he loves his mom very much. I’m sure he misses her, but he doesn’t say much.

It’s been a rough day, but seeing my nephew smile as I gave him the Batman toy was great. I tried to play with him a bit, and gave him a bear hug before leaving. He’s such a strong kid.

Verse for Today:

Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Savior and my God.

Psalm 42:11

11 thoughts on “Dear Nephew

  1. My heart breaks for him. He may fell abandoned, alone, unworthy, lost, hopeless and confused about identity. Theses are just a few of the issues that come with tragic loss. When my mother passed a few years back, she looked up at my wife and I and asked, “will you take him?) She was referring to my nephew who she had adopted and was raising. Of course we said yes and we adopted him as our own. It has been a very difficult road but love triumphs. It takes EVERYTHING you have to raise a child in these situations. Every feeling and emotion they endure is valid and must be addressed with love, when they are ready. Disciplining will prove to be very difficult. May the Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rev. Thank you so much. I’m sure you understand. I already started reading your book, btw. I just couldn’t finish it in one seating. I look forward to reading the whole thing.

      My nephew is actually with a family of church workers now. He needs all the guidance and spiritual leading he can get right now… that’s why we decided to have him stay there for a bit. and a youth pastor is leading him. but he cant stay there for too long, they’re relatives.

      My sister and I will eventually take him, maybe after this school year. It’s really a difficult time for him, I think. He has to adjust to all these things. And he acts out sometimes, though we get where he’s coming from.

      Hard to flush out all the negative things he’s learned since the beginning (from the lifestyle they used to have).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My prayers for you and your family as you face this challenge Liz. May God supply you all the strength and encouragement you need.
    “No temptation (challenge) has seized you beyond what is common to man. And God is faithful, he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted he will also provide a way out so you can endure it”-1 Cor 10:13

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Andrei! Thanks so much for the verse. It’s very comforting. We’ll get through these trying times, I’m positive about it. ❤

      Keep fighting for a better life everyday. We are warriors! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much.. A lot of people care about him, and praying for him.. so I’m really optimistic about his future ahead (no matter how difficult the road may be).

      Like

Share your thoughts :)

