Exploring Photography: Cosplay Photoshoot

Hi daily warriors!

There was a cosplay photoshoot near my office, and I thought I’d drop by to practice taking photos.

Cosplayers are very passionate about what they do. It’s amazing to see their commitment to the characters and how creative they could be in preparing their costumes.

They are to be admired by how they spend their free time on unleashing creativity, bonding with others, and making the characters come to life. The community has a friendly, cheerful, and helpful atmosphere.

I was very thankful with the photographers who willingly gave advise and tips on photography. I also liked that it was fairly easy to approach any cosplayer to ask if I could take their picture (after I get over that awkward shyness each time of course).

I still have a lot to explore about how to manipulate the settings on my camera, but overall… this was a fun learning experience! I didn’t have enough time to take pictures of everyone ’cause I was just on my break (1.5 hrs), but here are some of my favorite shots:

DSC_1230.JPG
DSC_1266.JPG
DSC_1276.JPG
DSC_1284.JPG
DSC_1309.JPG
DSC_1316.JPG
DSC_1343.JPG
DSC_1368.JPG
Event: You Group Bonding and Cosplay Photoshoot 5
Hosted by: Yokatta Otaku United

Check out the full album on my Facebook page here.

P.S. For those of you who might be interested, I created a photoblog for my favorite pictures and photo challenges. That’s just sort of an extension of this blog, except it’s going to be for any photography projects I come up with.

I’m so excited to be doing this with you guys here with me along the way. ❤

liz
48 thoughts on “Exploring Photography: Cosplay Photoshoot

    1. I’m trying my best to think that life is TOO short and moments pass by too quickly.. I’m actually such a wuss deep inside. Just fighting these negative thoughts, after all, I’m a daily warrior! Haha! (hey, this blog is helping me more than I think lol)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s good you’re grabbing every opportunity to learn about Photography. Great job Liz!
    You already are an amazing photographer! and if you’re going to make it as your career then you’ll be a fabulous professional photographer!! 🙂 🙂 Wish you Good luck! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

                1. It’s a big thing here in Asia ’cause they dress up as anime and game characters. Although I have seen it in the US too. Mostly comic conventions though like Sci Fi and Marvel, DC characters.

                  Yep. The characters in anime are usually cute. Haha! A lot of these people are shy and don’t say much btw. They’re just a bit more confident under the costume sometimes ’cause they are portraying a character.

                  Liked by 1 person

  2. A quick tip: When shooting white stuff(clothes) in bright daylight – set camera’s exposure to underexpose by -1 to -2 stops. Then, when processing RAWs, recover exposure.
    Basically, should do everything to avoid blowing out highlights. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

        1. *checks camera* The only RAW I see from the “Shooting Menu” is NEF (RAW) recording. and it’s set to:

          Type: ON
          NEF (RAW) bit depth: 14-bit

          Honestly, this is something I haven’t explored yet. It’s a Nikon D7000 with a Nikkor 18-105mm lens.

          Like

      1. Ou, then getting into RAW files may not be priority. 😛
        But still, I think that you should learn how to use RAW, because it will give you option to correct mistakes like this, while learning.

        I suggest to search two videos on youtube. First: “Raw vs Jpeg Examples Adorama Digital Photography TV 1 on 1 Video”, that will explain what are RAW files. And second video: “Raw vs JPEG: Real-world photography examples, advantages and disadvantages”, that will show good real world examples of RAW files…

        On additional note, Both Adorama and Tony & Chelsea Northrup channels are great for learning photography.
        For you, I would suggest to learn “exposure triangle”(Aperture, Shutter Speed, ISO) and both of those channels are great sources for that…
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh wow. You’ve been so helpful. I will definitely check these out. I’ve had the camera for about 2 weeks I think. During this photoshoot I just got it. I’m really just starting out and practicing. Everything is new to me.

          I really appreciate all the helpful advise.

          Like

Share your thoughts :)

