Daily Warrior: Tommy G.

There is a saying that “Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations.” and every Featured Daily Warrior has definitely come a long way!
We will be tapping into their life experiences and wisdom as we get to know them one post at a time.

Featured Daily Warrior:Tommy G.

download-1

Nickname:
Tommy G.

Describe yourself in three words.
passionate, kind, genuine

himalayas.jpg

What are your interests?

– Traveling
– Reading good Christian books
– Sharing Jesus with others
– Praying
– Working out
– Spending time with friends

Three things you can’t leave home without?

– phone
– wallet
– water
– Bible (4 things haha)

Recommended Book: The Life and Diary of David Brainard

Recommended Movie: Passion of the Christ

Describe your perfect day.

My perfect day would first of all be spent resting with God and others, eating meals with good friends and family.

My only work would be sharing the life of Christ with others and praying for them while watching God transform their lives. It would end with good quality time spent with loved ones and seeking God with one friend.

What motivates you?

I am simply motivated by love. Like Paul said the love of Christ compels me. I love God and He puts love in me for people. God is love therefore when you ask Him for His heart He reveals His love.

10264525_807666822669_4386658233565420762_n.jpg

In 1-2 sentences, what can you say about the world today?

The world is advanced in technology but is declining morally. Much of the world is in darkness without the hope of Christ.

Can you tell us about a challenge in the past (or in the present), and how you got through it?

I recently went through an intense training for missions. It was very difficult because I’ve been on my own for many years and am pretty independent. It had to come under a strict day by day schedule. Every hour was planned out. It had strict supervision from people a lot younger than me.

I felt like I had no room to breathe and no break at all for three months. The only way I got through it was I had people praying for me and encouraging me.

How did you get started with missionary work?

After I graduated from college, I was 23…I was praying with my sister just seeking God. God spoke to me and said I’ve called you to China and I will protect you. A year later, I was praying alone and God came really strong and said I’ve called you to Africa. He spoke to my mind. It came like a thought but it was not my own thought.

11143279_930356217139_133143342666359661_n.jpg

What countries or places have you been to on missions?

I’ve been to Peru, Honduras, Uganda, Kenya, Philippines, and Nepal.

What can you say about the people from these countries? 

Well here in Nepal they are daily warriors. They earn very little money yet they work very hard. I see some of them carrying large baskets of food on their heads… and they will walk long distances with the baskets on their heads. Many of them are older people and it amazes me. They do not have much earthly possessions yet they are a happy people.

They are very friendly and welcoming. They offer you tea whenever you visit them.

11781868_930359141279_3753912745842088833_n.jpg

What exactly do you do out there in missions?

It’s always different on the mission field. Mainly, I like to do outdoor crusades. We set up a stage in a field or basketball court with speakers. We have worship and preach the gospel. Then have an altar call for those who want to receive Jesus.

We also pray for the sick. Sometimes, we pray for those oppressed by demons.

We also have meetings in churches, conferences, take the church out door to door witnessing, visit orphans, help the poor.

We build relationships, give out Bibles, do discipleship.

10463060_812352133269_5147739084406128638_n

What was the most touching thing a person from the missions did for you?

One time a lady in Uganda got down in the mud and then washed our muddy shoes for before going on a long road trip for some outdoor meetings.

11703343_930357759049_2640078737057409293_n.jpg

Is there any particular daily warrior you’ve encountered?

There are many but one that stands out is the man who was bedridden in Uganda for several years. He had to lay down all day because of an injury in his back. I invited him to church. Not only did he come but he went to the front during worship and got on his knees on the cement floor. I could not even imagine the pain he must have felt.

What’s the biggest challenge in doing what you do?

Probably trusting God for finances and saying goodbye to family and friends… but God has been providing.

In your opinion, what personal qualities do you think a warrior (in life) should have?

First, a passionate love for Jesus being sold out to Him. Second a love for people.

A warrior has to be born again and filled with the Holy Spirit. Also we got to be armed with God’s full armor in Ephesians 6. We have to be armed with the word of God which is our only offensive weapon against the devil. Every time the devil tempted Jesus He quoted the bible immediately.

A warrior needs tenacity and a will that says no matter what I go through in life, I will never quit… I will never give up. A warrior needs good friends around him or her that know how to pray and encourage them daily.

download.jpg

What advise would you give your younger self?

Stay completely out of debt. Save up your money.
Be diligent in your work and work hard every day.
Stay away from all sin. Go to war against sin.

Do whatever you can to follow God in getting on the mission field.
Stay close to people and do not isolate yourself.

Never rush into a relationship and pray before you do.

What do you tell yourself when you feel like giving up?

I tell myself, what do I have to go back to? Before I was not happy in what I was doing in my job. I hated it. So now when trials come I say this is better than before. Also I try to be thankful. I look at others who are far less fortunate than me and I am grateful to God. Some people cannot walk and they have not given up.

Share your own experiences in being a Daily Warrior.

I have not thought about that. I always spend time in God’s Word. I also spend time in worship and prayer. When trials come, I pray and have others pray for me. I ask God to lead me.

download-4


Hi everyone!
Tommy G. is currently in the Himalayas, ministering to the poor in the slums, reaching out to the women involved in trafficking, and preaching to the lost. He is truly an inspirational man who is working hard day by day to fulfill his life’s purpose.
You can partner with him through his missions here, and check him out on Facebook!
Website: www.saveallnations.org
BeFunky Collage.jpg
With all the politics lately, I know it could be a bit stressful thinking of what the future brings. I decided to spread some positive vibes by posting this today. I want you to know that we’re going to be okay. We’re fighters, daily warriors!
I know it’s not all rainbows and butterflies in the world out there, but WE can be the change we want to see in the world. Each one of us.
Do what you can, with what you have, where you are. – Theodore Roosevelt
Just like Tommy G, we can do our share to make the world a better place, to make a difference within our circle of influence.
liz
3 thoughts on “Daily Warrior: Tommy G.

Share your thoughts :)

