Daily Warrior: Anne

There is a saying that “Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations.” and every Featured Daily Warrior has definitely come a long way!
We will be tapping into their life experiences and wisdom as we get to know them one post at a time.

Featured Daily Warrior: Anne

download-2

Preferred Nickname:

Anne

Describe yourself in three words. 

spontaneous, intellectual, withdrawn

What are your interests? 

Let’s see. I like reading and writing, drawing and painting, carving small sculptures out of blackboard chalk pieces.

zz
Even as a child I liked imagining stories, so vivid, in fact, that I could almost see the story in front of my very eyes.

I like to help fix and improve. I love to create. 

asdada

Introvert or Extrovert? 

I would say more introverted. I don’t believe that any one person is completely intro- or extroverted. We are just more or less of one of the other, depending on how we prefer to re-energize our inner magic. 

3 Pet Peeves:

(1.) External noise. This bothers me a lot, especially when I’m trying to work. Tricycles out in the street, screaming children, construction sounds — the kinds that do not help me get into that magical zone of creativity, but rather burst any bubble I like to be in when I’m creating.

(2.) Pretense. Example, pretending to be someone or something you’re not, especially those who see fit to place themselves on what they think is a pedestal high above everyone else, because they are “better.”

(3.) Crab mentality. Need I say more?

3 Things You Cant Leave Home Without:

(1.) Notebook. Though I sometimes forget (or opt to leave behind when I don’t bring a bag). This is so that I can (or at least I try to) jot down notes or sketches from sudden ideas.

(2.) Pen. Specifically my G-Tec. 😄

(3.) Phone. Now besides the obvious reasons, it’s also so that I can take snaps of anything that might inspire me for a drawing or a character or a story. 

Left or Right-Handed? Primarily right-handed for writing, though I can also write somewhat with my left when my right is injured. Left-handed for several other things. Almost all other things, actually.

Recommended Movie/Book: 

Book: Big Magic. Movie: Life is Beautiful.

What would a perfect day be like for you?

I don’t know perfect, so I will settle for ideal. Nice mid-morning wake up to my cat and coffee or tea. An hour to bake a cake or brownies, followed by allotted time to sort through admin tasks (emails, etc.) then off to research and creating!

I’d like to rest in between and wind up the day with a good book, music and tea.

Let evening be quality time with hubby, followed by more reading and a good night’s sleep. 

What motivates you to do what you do?

There was a time in my life when I was content. Not just happy, but content with how my life was everyday, and I would have been glad to live the rest of my life that way. But Life got in the way of that, and one thing and sacrifice and choice after another, and here I am.

I know that I am meant to create, to bring forth things in this world, whether it be art or written word, or music. I know because I was once happy and content doing just that. And by doing what I enjoyed — once upon a time — I was helping others indirectly.

I don’t need to be famous, or billion-dollar-rich. But I know that being broke is not ideal, either. I want to be able to live the rest of my life in reasonable comfort, doing and creating what I love. And if I get rich doing that, all the better for me to create more and maybe able to help others.

Because what do you have to give, when you don’t have anything yourself?

33333.jpg

If your blog was a color, which color would it be? Why?

Grey and teal. Primarily grey.
I like those colours. Grey is neutral, teal is natural and soothing.

I like lavender and purple, but they are much too overwhelming for colours on a blog. Any artwork I have would likely have those colours, so let those have the colour. The blog layout doesn’t have to compete with the content. 😀

In 1-2 sentences, what can you say about the world today?

It’s a sad, sad world when people look at their differences and listen to the prejudices of bodiless voices, rather than use their own eyes and hearts.

Can you tell us about a challenge in the past (or in the present), and how you got through it?

I have had many challenges in my life. Some big, some small. But I think what I am going through now is not a new challenge, but rather the next step in a challenge that I have been facing for the past year of 2016.

Call it confusion, disillusionment, or quarter-life crisis. Doesn’t matter. All I know is I am in a place where I am not fulfilled because I know that I have a better purpose in this world, in this life that I am not fulfilling. My challenge is to overcome the confusion and hurt and find my way back to that path, or better yet, carve my way and my own new path to that happiness.

It’s in scripture too. That you have to help yourself before you will be able to help others. If you don’t have any fish, you don’t have any fish to give. If you don’t know how to fish, you can’t teach that poor man how to fish either.

It’s not selfishness, is practicality and common sense. 

In your opinion, what personal qualities do you think a warrior (in life) should have?

Perseverance is an obvious one. But also common sense, compassion and humility.

Why? Because we will not succeed at EVERYTHING that we try to do. It’s probably inevitable that you will fail once in a while. And that’s okay. And it’s okay to make mistakes sometimes, both you and the next person, too.

Be humble, compassionate, but not stupid. It’s life, not a storybook. 

What advise would you give your younger self?

Listen to your heart, and your head. You knew all along what would make you happy and fulfilled, from the age of 17, you knew.

Your parents want the best for you, but they are not you. Trying to please them (and the other ‘elders’) continuously won’t make you pleased with yourself. Don’t forget who you truly are. Those characters in your head are all shields that will eventually crumble when you’ve had too much.

It’s not wrong to be yourself, or to be scared, or happy.

Be honest and true to yourself, and you will find your way day by day.

22222222222.jpg

What do you tell yourself when you feel like giving up?

Prove them wrong. Prove yourself wrong. You’re amazing, and worth it. You are worthy to be here on this Earth. Remember to forgive and love yourself.

Share your own experiences in being a Daily Warrior.

You don’t have to be doing amazing, crazy things to be one. Just getting through a tough day is an achievement and you should recognize that.

There are days I don’t even want to get up out of bed. There had been days I did not want to live another day. Those were dark days.

But I got through them. Even if I’d never told anyone about them because back then, the only person I could had died in a fatal accident.

But then there are friends, peers, women I’ve never met who look up to me and tell me how amazing I am, or my story is. And I try to remind myself of my self-worth. Because you have to love yourself before you can ask others to love you. You have to love and accept yourself so that you can also truly love life and love.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our Daily Warriors?

It’s a new day. It’s a new sunrise. Your problems did not disappear. They’re still there, but you’re alive. Somewhere, someone loves you even if you don’t want to accept it. You are worthy of being here, even if you feel like you don’t matter at all among 7 billion other meatbags.

Every choice and action you make or take affects the next moment in the universe. So yes, you are significant. And at the same time, you are not.

Accept that paradox. Life is full of them. Accept yourself, then improve yourself. Then learn to love yourself. (in a good way, not a narcissistic kind of way)

4444.jpg


Hi everyone! Anne is our very first Featured Daily Warrior.  I’m definitely inspired by her words of wisdom and experiences. Isn’t she amazing?  🙂
Her very lovable fluffy cat Dante also says hi! (Aww!)

asdadadaaaqqw

I hope you learned something from our interview with her. Send some good vibes to Anne through the comments below!
Check her websites here:
www.pxlcut.com
www.paperstylus.com
gloriannerose.strikingly.com
Follow Anne on Facebook:
PxlCut.com
Paper Stylus
Who’s going to be the next Featured Daily Warrior? It could be YOU! Just fill up this form.

liz

29 thoughts on “Daily Warrior: Anne

  1. How beautiful! The way you’re promoting someone else whilst also sharing your happiness with the world, I agree with you learning how to fish first. before you can give someone else fish/teach someone to teach. How many times do people try to guilt trip because we aren’t exactly what we expect? It’s time we work on ourselves more, and not be people’s expectations, but be astounding!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thanks, Awesome Nyse! *winks*

      I’m so glad you liked the post! I’m excited for more to come. ❤

      The bit about the fish was actually great wise words from Anne herself here. I feel great sharing how others inspire me.

      Like

      1. It is, child! *Gandalf-like voice*

        Haha. Let’s pretend that you did not ask me to do the “interview” at – what was it – 2AM? Or that I was not happily procrastinating on other things to indulge that for the moment. Hahaha 😁

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Always nice to find another altruistic, kind and strong soul who’s willing to share and fight hand in hand with our brothers and sisters in this “game of life”.

        Have you played that board game btw? Love it lol!

        It’s not easy to be living in such a world and definitely not easy to possess such traits when everything else out there mostly try to devour you. The fact that you are still expressing so much hope and positivity in life says a lot and I’m agree with Liz on her choice to feature you in this one.

        You definitely are a warrior 😉
        Keep the fire burning you guys!

        Don’t stop believing, hold onto these feeling~

        Your palm
        Benjamin
        http://www.projectbiy.com

        P.S. Kudos to you both for such a lengthy and insightful article. Writers and bloggers alike would know that it took considerable amount of effort and discipline to see it done right 😉

        Liked by 4 people

      3. Thank you, Benjamin Ngiam. 🙂
        No, I have not played that board game, but we’ll definitely look that up!

        Everyday is a new day, and even though there are many days that are “down days,” I try t find ways to keep my chin up. Because there are worse things in the world than a bad day, or a very very bad day. Things could be worse. So why not look at what we can make better instead, right?

        Virtual cheers and hugs to all!

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts :)

