Procrastination: The Terrible Giant

I turned my laptop on to post on my blog.

Google page came on the screen. I spent a few minutes quite amused with the Halloween game they had. I got up to level 3, I think.

q

I was supposed to do something, right? What was it again? Let me open this link and that link. Ooohhh, what a cute picture! 

I’m starting to get hungry. I should check this restaurant’s website. I heard they have good food there.

I wonder what my friend is up to right now? I better send her a message.

Oh! Where did the time go?

Did I forget something?

Oh, right. The post.


Procrastination,
A big, terrible giant
I will overcome.


Anyone dealing with short attention span and perfectionism, raise your hand! There’s a lot of us out there.

It could be so easy to stir away from our tasks with so many things we can do nowadays. Before you know it, your room looks something like this:

chaos-227971_960_720

You overestimated the time you have left to finish your tasks and underestimated the time you need to do them. Now, you’re overwhelmed with tons of things to do.

Before you fall into self-loathing and have an impending sense of doom, listen to me.

You can get through this.

If you’re like me who’s so used to doing things in the last minute, it could be hard to build a good habit of discipline to overcome this.

However, it can be done.

So how do we deal with this big, terrible giant of a roadblock to our goals?

Let me count the ways.

  1. Start your day right. (Don’t check your phone or computer right away to avoid wasting hours on emails or browsing social media.)
  2. Create a to-do list with a planned schedule. 
  3. Take on one task at a time.
  4. Just get started.
  5. If the task is too big, break it down into smaller tasks.
  6. Avoid any distractions.
  7. Focus on having the task finished, even if it’s not perfect.
  8. Know WHY it’s important to complete the task.
  9. Stay positive that you can do it.
  10. Relax. Don’t pressure yourself too much.

If you could follow through with these tips, you should be good to go. When you are done with what you need to do, make sure to reward yourself with something awesome!

If you have any additional ideas about this, please feel free to leave your insights or techniques on how to overcome procrastination below. ❤

cropped-mf611.jpg

30 thoughts on “Procrastination: The Terrible Giant

  1. Nice post. Procrastination seems to be something we all suffer from. I’m open to any and all suggestions on how to combat this behemoth and really loved your post😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wowwww, pretty much me in a nutshell. TBH half the time I can’t even remember all the things I set out to do. When I tell myself countless times not to forget something, I end up forgetting anyway. Further proof that procrastination is ruining my life…ask my blog that is currently collecting dust.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Hey Liz, great post. Procrastination kills dreams. To fight it you need to stay strong and be a DAILY WARRIOR! 😉

    How has your blogging journey been going? I see that you switched sites from MissFortitude to this. What led to you to the change and how do you like it so far?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi James. Thanks for noticing. I actually posted about it here: https://dailywarriors.wordpress.com/2016/11/01/daily-warriors/

      I love blogging. It’s a great outlet for me at this point. Some blogs have a set identity, but I guess my blog is growing with me. Although, I’ll be keeping the dailywarriors from here on… it’s just that I think it was a better fit for my journey. After all, I’m not alone in this. You guys are here… I love sharing not only about my experience, but also about others who inspire me. We’re all daily warriors. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I am ecstatic that you are being honest with yourself and have the courage to make the changes that best reflect who you are becoming. I feel we all need to Activate our All as Daily Warriors! 😉

        Pleasure connecting with you Liz as we are on a similar journey. Keep up the stupendous work! Yeah, that’s right I said stupendous. I will definitely check that article out.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome post. The tips and steps to fighting procrastination are really helpful, as I’m someone who battles with it every day haha. I’m slowly getting better though, at least I like to think I am. James from Activate Your All sent me to your blog, and I’m glad he did! Great post once again!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hey Jake! James is super awesome for sending you over here. Haha! I also battle with procrastination on a daily basis. Good to have you on board. Let’s share the journey to overcoming life’s obstacles, daily warrior! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I too realise it happens fsr too often! …. Its a sickness like outher sicknesses it needs a cure! …
    Its called self control.
    Great post.

    Like

    1. Haha! For some reason, I laughed at this. A good laugh. You know, one of those “it’s funny because it’s true” haha.

      I so agree with you. Discipline and self-control. Lots and lots of it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or
    tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to
    this article. I want to read more things about it!

    Like

Share your thoughts :)

