Terrible Love – Birdy

It’s a terrible love and I’m walking with spiders
It’s a terrible love that I’m walking in
It’s a terrible love and I’m walking with spiders
It’s a terrible love that I’m walking in
Its quiet company
Its quiet company

It’s a terrible love and I’m walking with spiders
It’s a terrible love that I’m walking in
It’s a terrible love and I’m walking with spiders
It’s a terrible love that I’m walking in
Its quiet company
Its quiet company
Its quiet company

And I can’t fall asleep
Without a little help
It takes a while
To settle down
My shattered bones
Wait til the panic’s out

It takes an ocean not to break
It takes an ocean not to break
It takes an ocean not to break
It takes an ocean not to break
Company
Its quiet company
Its quiet company

And I won’t follow you
Into the rabbit hole
I said I would
But then I saw
Your shivered bones
They didn’t want me to

It’s a terrible love and I’m walking with spiders
It’s a terrible love that I’m walking in
It’s a terrible love and I’m walking with spiders
It’s a terrible love that I’m walking in

It takes an ocean not to break
It takes an ocean not to break

It’s a terrible love
Being involved in something that brings you comfort but isn’t really good for you. It could be a habit, a vice, a relationship, or a way of thinking.

I’m walking with spiders
Being surrounded by either growth or fears or both. People are “weavers” of life. Everybody is just trying to make the best life out of what they can and what they have, just like spiders. But you could also be caught in the web, with no way out. Many people get caught in situations they cant get out of… into having feelings and fears they cannot get rid of.

I’m walking in.
You are joining the many others who weave their lives and get tangled up in the consequences.

It’s quiet company.
Among everything you do to feel otherwise, you still feel alone.

And I can’t fall asleep
Without a little help
You have a troubled heart and mind.

It takes a while
To settle down
My shattered bones
Wait til the panic’s out
It takes a long time for you to fix yourself and deal with your fears and ghosts inside yourself to reach your full potential as a person.

And I won’t follow you
Into the rabbit hole
I said I would
But then I saw
Your shivered bones
They didn’t want me to
You decide to be with someone or do something that at first seems like the perfect thing for you because there are many great opportunities there. The future promises happiness, considering that the rabbit hole leads to wonderland. But something stopped you. It didn’t feel right. Maybe your eyes were opened to the results of your actions if you keep pursuing that thing or person, so you didn’t follow through.

It takes an ocean not to break
It takes an immense amount of strength, courage, determination, hope, motivation, *insert more positive things here* for you not to give up on everything.

2 thoughts on “Terrible Love – Birdy

Share your thoughts :)

